Oldest of the public schools in the Hyde Park area is the Henry Clay School, now located at 3820 North Fourteenth Street. Originally it was started in a three story brick building at the southwest corner of Bellefontaine Road (Eleventh Street) and Farrar Street in 1859. This school contained twelve rooms with a capacity of 940 students. The present Clay School, designed by William B. Ittner on a large H-shaped academic plan, was completed in 1905. The Library Service Center of the Board of Education is now on the site of the old Clay School. The Center was designed by Mariner and LaBeaume in 1909 as the Divoll Branch of the Public Library and was so used until about 1965. It was pilastered brick walls on a granite foundation with a richly developed stone trim.
A typical example of nineteenth century school architecture is the original building of the Washington Irving School at 3829 North Twenty-fifth Street. It was designed by F. W. Roeder and completed in 1871 in a simple Italianate style with round arched windows. Three stories in height, it originally had twelve rooms seating 700 pupils. Ornamental brick work is evident is an addition erected in 1893-94.
The third public school built to serve the area was the William Greenleaf Eliot School at 4242 Grove, at that street's intersection with North Florissant. Eliot was a president of the school board and the founder of Washington University. The building was completed in 1898 from plans by William B. Ittner. It has an H-shaped plan with a rusticated first floor, corner quoins and a tiled hipped roof in a picturesque Italianate style.
Image - Henry Clay Public School