Office of the Mayor

Pearl Dailey Wins Mayor Slay's Holiday Card Design Contest

Top 10 finalists honored at ceremony in the Mayor's Office

January 1, 2011 | 2 min reading time

This article is 11 years old. It was published on January 1, 2011.

In November, Mayor Francis G. Slay invited all grade school children in St. Louis to submit a drawing for consideration in his annual Holiday Card Design Contest. Many entries were submitted through local schools as class projects. The winning drawing by Pearl Daily, a student at Froebel Literacy Academy, was used as the design for the Mayor's 2010 Holiday greeting card. The winner and runners-up were recognized at a ceremony in the Mayor's Office last month.

Pictured below from left are: Sam Wobbe, St. Stephen Protomartyr School, 1st Runner-Up; Mayor Francis G. Slay; Pearl Dailey, Froebel Literacy Academy, Winner; and Lucy Myerscough, Stix E.C.C., 2nd Runner-Up.  

Mayor Francis G. Slay poses with the top three finalists in his 2010 Holiday Card Design Contest. 

Mayor Francis G. Slay poses with the finalists in his 2010 Holiday Card Design Contest.

During the reception immediately following the ceremony, Mayor Slay posed with all the finalists who were in attendance.  Pictured from left (front row):

  • Zuko Hajrovic, Woerner Elementary, Honorable Mention
  • Anthony Beard, Jefferson Elementary, Honorable Mention
  • Taylor Gahn, Mallinckrodt Elementary, Honorable Mention

(back row, from left)

  • Cierra Cross, Kennard Classical Junior Academy, Honorable Mention
  • Sam Wobbe, St. Stephen Protomartyr School, 1st Runner-Up
  • Lucy Myerscough, Stix E.C.C., 2nd Runner-Up
  • Mayor Francis G. Slay
  • Pearl Dailey, Froebel Literacy Academy, Winner
  • Tessa Laslo, McKinley Classical Leadership Academy, Honorable Mention

Finalists not able to attend:

  • Brian Mendoza, Woodward Elementary, Honorable Mention
  • Annie Evola, St. Gabriel the Archangel School, Honorable Mention

To view a .pdf file of all the winning designs, see the associated document below.



  • Department:
    Office of the Mayor
  • Topic: