City Emergency Management Agency

SBA Disaster Loans Available

Reminder that federal disaster loans are available

September 21, 2016 | 2 min reading time

This article is 8 years old. It was published on September 21, 2016.

One Month Left to Apply for SBA Disaster Loans

Acting District Director Maureen Brinkley of the U.S. Small Business Administration's (SBA) St. Louis District Office, today reminded Missouri small businesses of the Oct. 21, 2016, deadline to apply for an SBA federal disaster loan for economic injury caused by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that occurred Dec. 23, 2015 - Jan. 9, 2016.

According to Brinkley, small nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private nonprofit organizations of any size may apply for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster. "EIDLs may be used to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts payable and other bills that cannot be paid because of the disaster's impact. EIDL assistance is available regardless of whether the applicant suffered any property damage," Brinkley said.

These low-interest federal disaster loans are available in the following Missouri, Arkansas, Illinois, Kansas and Oklahoma counties:

Missouri counties -Barry, Barton, Benton, Bollinger, Boone, Callaway, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cedar, Christian, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Mississippi, Moniteau, Montgomery, Morgan, New Madrid, Newton, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Pettis, Phelps, Pike, Polk, Pulaski, Scott, Shannon, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, St. Louis, St. Louis City, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Warren, Washington, Webster and Wright;

Arkansas counties - Benton, Boone, Carroll and Marion;

Illinois counties - Alexander, Calhoun, Jersey, Madison, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair and Union;

Kansas counties - Cherokee and Crawford;

Oklahoma counties - Delaware and Ottawa.

The interest rate is 4 percent for businesses and 2.625 percent for private nonprofit organizations with terms up to 30 years. Loan amounts and terms are set by SBA and are based on each applicant's financial condition.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA's secure website at

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA's Customer Service Center by calling(800) 659-2955 or emailing Individuals who are deaf or hard‑of‑hearing may call (800) 877-8339. For more disaster assistance information or to download applications, visit Completed applications should be mailed to U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX  76155.

  • Department:
    City Emergency Management Agency
  • Topic: