President Reed announces next term for Poet Laureate

President Lewis Reed announces next term for the St. Louis Poet Laureate and has appointed Cheryl D.S. Walker to chair the taskforce.

June 12, 2018 | 2 min reading time

This article is 6 years old. It was published on June 12, 2018.

President Lewis Reed announces next term for the St. Louis Poet Laureate and has appointed Cheryl D.S. Walker – a member of the inaugural Missouri Poet Laureate selection committee - to chair the taskforce. 

“It's exciting to have been asked to lead such a talented team to select our next Poet Laureate.  The Task Force worked hard to develop submission guidelines and a selection process that will yield a candidate that our region will be excited about and proud of,” said Walker.

Members of the third St. Louis Poet Laureate Taskforce include Jill McGuire, Maria Balogh, Dwight Bitikofer, Amy Hunter, Rudy Nickens, Stef Russell and 2018 high school graduate and current St. Louis Youth Poet Laureate, Zack Lesmeister. “It’s essential that the next generation has a say [because] we are the future of the literary community and deserve representation,” said Lesmeister.

Poets 21 years and older can apply to become the next St. Louis Poet Laureate by submitting samples of their work, a biographical sketch and a resume. Other required documents include a narrative that states why the applicant should be considered, what he or she hopes to accomplish during the two years as the Saint Louis Poet Laureate, and a theme to be explored during the initial year of service and ideas for any special projects related to the position.  

The St. Louis Poet Laureate submission process opens June 18, 2018 and closes July 20, 2018. The task force will begin reviewing applicants for the balance of the summer and put forth recommendation prior to the fall session of the Board of Alderman. The full criteria for the nomination process are available at

  • Contact Information:

  • Department:
    President of the Board of Aldermen
  • Topic:

Most Read News

  1. Applications for St. Louis Senior Property Tax Freeze Credit Now Live Senior residents can now apply to freeze their property taxes through a new credit enacted by BB 141 (Schweitzer), providing financial relief to those who are burdened by the rising costs of property taxes.
  2. St. Louis City Awarded Solar For All Federal Grant The City of St. Louis is part of two different coalition groups among 60 selectees that will receive a total of $7 billion in awards through the Solar for All grant competition.
  3. St. Louis City Municipal Division Moving to Municipal Court will use for new cases filed on or after January 2, 2024.

Was this page helpful?      

Comments are helpful!
500 character limit

Feedback is anonymous.