CDA Receives National Award for its 2018 Community Development Week

John A. Sasso Award Received Four Years in a Row

May 28, 2018 | 2 min reading time

This article is 5 years old. It was published on May 28, 2018.

2018 Community Development Week Award Recipients

ST. LOUIS – The City of St. Louis was recently named a four-time recipient of the John A. Sasso Award from the National Community Development Association (NCDA) for its outstanding 2018 Community Development Week. As one of only eight cities receiving the award throughout the country, St. Louis was selected based on an evaluation of criteria such as partnerships, engagement, and innovation.

The City’s Community Development Administration (CDA) sponsored several events during the week of April 2-7, including a historic walking tour of Lewis Place, a resource fair at Wohl Recreation Center, a bus tour of recently completed projects, and a staff Day of Service project in the Hyde Park neighborhood. 

“Community Development Week gives us an opportunity to showcase the many successful projects and organizations funded with CDBG and HOME funds,” says Alana Green, Executive Director of CDA. “We are truly honored to be recognized four years in a row.”

A highlight of the week was CDA’s annual awards ceremony at the Jewel Box in Forest Park, which honored the following organizations and individuals for their outstanding community development work:

  • Community Advocate of the Year – Sal Martinez
  • Community Partner of the Year – Community Builders Network of Metro St. Louis
  • Executive Director of the Year – Paul Woodruff
  • Health Advocate of the Year – Food Outreach
  • Housing Development of the Year (3) – East Fox Homes, 4025 Shreve, and 3139 Ohio
  • Municipal Program of the Year – Planning and Urban Design Agency
  • Outstanding Service Award – Lorna Alexander
  • Public Improvement Project of the Year – Lewis Place Street Improvements
  • Youth Program of the Year – Boys and Girls Club of St. Louis

Community Development Week was established in 1986 by NCDA, of which the City of St. Louis is a member. NCDA is a national non-profit organization comprised of more than 400 local governments across the country that administer community and economic development, housing and human service programs supported by HUD’s Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) and the HOME Investment Partnership (HOME) programs. 

Other cities receiving the 2018 award include Quincy, MA; Jacksonville, FL; Burlington, VT; Shreveport, LA; San Antonio, TX; Columbia, SC; and Richland, SC.


  • Department:
    Community Development Administration
  • Topic:

Related Stories

Was this page helpful?      

Comments are helpful!
500 character limit

Feedback is anonymous.