History Of The Department

Sheriff Department's history

The City of St. Louis, since 1876, has had no less than 26 Sheriffs, with John Finn presiding over the office the year St. Louis city separated from the County of St. Louis to our current Sheriff Vernon Betts.

The qualifications for Sheriff of St. Louis are identical to those credentials for President of the United States. The candidate must be 35 years of age, a natural-born citizen and a resident of the U.S. for at least 14 years. A Sheriff in the U.S. is one of the chief administrative officers of a county. It is the Sheriff's duty to take charge of prisoners, to oversee juries, and to prevent breaches of the peace. The Sheriff also carries out the judgments of the county court. In St. Louis, the Sheriff serves the 22nd Judicial Circuit Court of the City of St. Louis.


St. Louis Sheriffs Since 1876

Name  Party  Dates Served
Vernon BettsDemocrat 2017  - Present
James W. Murphy  Democrat  1989 - 2016
Gordon D. Schweitzer  Democrat  1979-1989
Benjamin L. Goins  Democrat  1978
Raymond R. Percich  Democrat  1972-1977
Martin L. Tozer  Democrat  1953-1972
Thomas F. Callanan  Democrat  1949-1953
John F. Dougherty  Democrat  1945-1949
Thomas H. Quinn  Democrat  1941-1945
James J. Fitzsimmons  Democrat  1937-1941
Thomas R. Madden  Democrat  1933-1937
George Strodtman  Republican  1929-1933
Anton Schuler  Republican  1925-1929
Charles E. Morstadt  Republican  1921-1925
George P. Weinbrenner  Republican  1917-1921
Joseph F. Dickmann  Democrat  1913-1917
Louis Nolte  Republican  1907-1913
Patrick H. Clarke  Republican  1905-1907
Joseph F. Dickmann  Demorat  1901-1905
John H. Pohlman  Republican  1899-1901
Henry Troll  Republican  1895-1897
Patrick Stead  Democrat  1891-1895
John H. Pohlman  Republican  1888-1891
Henry F. Harrington  Democrat  1884-1888
Isaac M. Mason  Republican  1880-1884
John Finn  Democrat  1876-1880

Was this page helpful?      

Comments are helpful!
500 character limit

Feedback is anonymous.